Founders’ Medal

* nominations are currently closed for the 2020 ICMRBS Founders’ Medal, to be awarded at the XXIX ICMRBS Conference, rescheduled for July 2021.  Nominations for the 2022 ICMRBS Founders’ Medal will be announced in early 2022. *

The International Conference of Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (ICMRBS) was co-founded by Oleg Jardetzky, Mildred Cohn, and Robert Shulman in 1964. The conference has been organized biannually over the past half century, and currently attracts between 800 and 1,000 scientists to a six-day scientific forum held at different locations across the world.

In 2002, the ICMRBS Council established the Founders’ Medal to recognize exceptional contributions by young scientists to the development and/or progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems.

Nominations are invited for this prestigious medal to be presented at the forthcoming XXIXth ICMRBS meeting, which will be held in Boston, MA, USA, August 23-28, 2020. The award winner will receive the Founders’ Medal and $3,000 USD, and she/he will be invited to present a lecture at the above mentioned conference.

Previous Recipients

  • 2002 Lewis Kay, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 2005 Nico Tjandra, National Institutes of Health, USA
  • 2006 Marc Baldus, Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
  • 2008 Chad Rienstra, University of Illinois, USA
  • 2010 Mei Hong, Iowa State University, USA
  • 2012 Hashim Al-Hashimi, University of Michigan, USA
  • 2014 Christopher Jaroniec, Ohio State University, USA
  • 2016 Adam Lange, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany
  • 2018 Lynette Cigelski, Stanford University, USA, and Sebastian Hiller, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • 2020 Paul Schanda, Institue of Structural Biology, Grenoble, France, and Nicholas Cox, Australian National University

Nomination Procedure

The candidate must be less than 12 years post-Ph.D. (plus 1 year for each child) at the time of the meeting at which the medal is conferred. Nominations must be submitted by email to the Chair of the Search Committee (2020). The deadline for receipt of nominations will be announced. The nomination should include:


  • A signed cover letter (self-nominations are not allowed)
  • Outline of the nominee’s “exceptional contributions”
  • The nominee’s CV and publication list


Founders’ Medal Selection Committee

chair: Mei Hong (MIT)

Matthias Ernst (ETH Zürich)

Arthur Palmer (Columbia University)

Frances Separovic (University of Melbourne)

Ichio Shimada (RIKEN)