2020 ICMRBS Founders’ Medalists announced

We’re delighted to announce that the Founders’ Medal selection committee of ICMRBS [Mei Hong (chair), Frances Separovic, Art Palmer, Ichio Shimada and Matthias Ernst] has selected two outstanding medalists for 2020, Paul Schanda and Nicholas Cox. 

Paul Schanda, currently a principal investigator in solid-state NMR at the Institute of Structural Biology in Grenoble, is recognized for his achievement in developing solid-state NMR techniques for studying protein dynamics and applying these techniques to understand membrane protein transporters, chaperones, and enzyme complexes.

Nicholas Cox, currently a Senior Lecturer in Chemistry at the Australian National University, is recognized for his achievement in developing and applying high-field EPR techniques to elucidate water splitting in oxidative photosynthesis and to the study of metal cofactors in metalloenzymes.

With the postponement of the XXIX ICMRBS conference scheduled for August this year, Paul and Nick will present their Founders’ Medal lectures at the 2021 ICMRBS Conference in Boston in July 2021.  In the meantime, both Paul’s and Nick’s have shared their research with lectures in the Emerging Magnetic Resonance series, available via the ICMRBS YouTube site.

The ICMRBS Council thanks the selection committee for their contributions and warmly congratulates Paul and Nick on this significant award.